BoHo Book Club Week One Question

Book – Resist The Machine
Author – C.D. Verhoff  

Question: How do you feel about the workings of Avantica? What are your thoughts on the defectives?

I’ve taken a long break from reading with any regularity, but this book has made me believe that I can keep my interest held on a page again. I love it. The use of imagery is spectacular, and I truly feel like I am walking the streets of Avantica page after page.

I live in Oklahoma, so of course it is a fun delight to get some kind of Oklahoma shout-out with the capital’s location. As I read, I find myself wanting to get a look into what the other models of Avant do in their homes. Entertainer families must be raucous in comparison to a Numberling family, I imagine.

There are strict boundaries constantly at work in the Avatican society, and it is creepy! Creepy in that the characters are okay with the way things are, because that’s the only way they’ve ever known life to be. In many ways I want to be sympathetic to a way of life that rubs me the wrong way personally. As I look through Clara’s eyes I feel like I’m an accidental Nazi, not knowing that the Luddites might be onto something. She has no basis for that perception though, because she hasn’t had the opportunity to experience anything different. Writing this, I am only halfway through the book and haven’t encountered a LUD yet, but my current theory is maybe they won’t turn out to be so horrible as they’ve been billed as.

As for the Defectives, I am still unsure as to what exactly is going on there. Are they going to turn out to be the super cool ones? I hope they aren’t being immediately killed, but I think that since Clara is still holding onto a psychic connection with Simone, I can hold out some hope for now! Is Clara a Defective Exception of some sort?

_____________________

Are you an Author, blogger, or Reader? Would you like to join a book club from the comfort of your couch? Look no further! The #BohoBookClub is in its second month now and waiting for you to join along!
Learn More Here

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I like your thought that Clara could be a Defective Exception. I never thought about that, but that makes a lot of sense. I guess we will both find out! 🙂

    Like

    1. I won’t be surprised if I’m wrong though, just because this book is the best kind of tease – difficult to predict!

      Like

Leave a Reply

